Sic Alps Announce Self-Titled Fifth Album, Out September 10 On Drag City


Sic Alps Announce Self-Titled Fifth Album, Out September 10 On Drag City


sic alps

With the self-titled Sic Alps album now ready to hit on September 10th via Drag City (Munich Records), we’re looking at another fresh dawn in the storied history of a band. But what really is the story anyway?

During Pavement’s “One More for the Money” tour of 2010, Sic Alps played some British gigs with them – it’s been written that during one long night in Brixton, Stephen Malkmus was heard uttering within shot of a microphone that Sic Alps would be one of the most important bands of the next ten years. Not that we’re inclined to disagree, but Malkmus is a habitual liar, so who knows how apocryphal one can really be about that.

All speculation aside, here are the facts as we know them: Sic Alps will be the fifth album from Sic Alps, if you include the compilation album Long Way Around to a Shortcut, which we do. There’s been a number of singles and some splits and who knows, we may be looking at a second way around to a shortcut someday soon. First though, we deal with the cracking and recasting of the mold that comes when you start to hear the sounds of Sic Alps. And lest you be deprived of that gentle bombshell, that first sting of strings, we present the leadoff track to the record, “Glyphs,” premiered earlier today on Pitchfork.

Listen to Sic Alps’ “Glyphs here:

Sic Alps Tracklisting:

1. Glyphs

2. God Bless Her, I Miss Her

3. Lazee Son

4. Polka Vat

5. Wake Up, It’s Over II

6. Drink Up!

7. Tylacine Man

8. Moviehead

9. Rock Races

10. See You On The Slopes